Extra time to enter the 2019 Awards for Excellence

Following a late surge in demand, the deadline for entries to letsrecycle.com’s 2019 Awards for Excellence has been extended to March 20.

The finalists and winners at the Awards for Excellence in Recycling and Waste Management 2018

Local authorities, businesses, individuals, and waste and recycling companies will now have extra time to submit an entry into the wide-ranging awards scheme, which covers 16 categories.

The finalists and winners at the Awards for Excellence in Recycling and Waste Management 2018

Organised by letsrecycle.com, the annual celebration of hard work and innovation in the waste sector will take place at the five-star Landmark Hotel in the heart of London on 9 May.

This year the ceremony will be hosted by television’s Ben Shephard, a household name known for presenting Sky Sports’ Goals on Sunday and Good Morning Britain.

Category spotlight

Award categories include The Civic Amenity (CA) Site of the Year (sponsored by REPIC), which is open to the operators of CA sites or Household Waste Recycling Centres which have successful and effective day-to-day operations.

Entrants will need to show how the sites have been used to increase recycling and composting and provide an enhanced service to users. Other factors could include planning, design, operational and cost aspects of the site. These sites may be run by a contractor or a local authority and the site will have the principle functions of the traditional civic amenity site.

Entrants are also being sought for the Collection Crew of the Year Award – which recognises waste operatives for the dedication and high-level service provided in either refuse collection, recycling, or both.

Other categories include Waste Management Initiative in the Retail, Commercial and Public Sector (sponsored by Helistrat); Circular Economy Success (sponsored by European Recycling Platform); Best Use of Design and Technology in a Waste Management Facility (sponsored by the Environmental Services Association); Waste Transfer and Skip Hire Business of the Year (sponsored by Turmec); Civic Amenity Site of the Year (sponsored by REPIC); the Best Community Recycling Initiative; and the Zero Waste Platinum Award (sponsored by Wastecare).

To enter, submit a 500-word application via the event website.

For more information about these categories and more, be sure to visit:

Awards for Excellence 2019 or call: 020 7633 4500.

Subscribe for free

Subscribe to receive our newsletters and to leave comments.

The Blog Box

Other Publications from
The Environment Media Group

Back to top