Top collection crews sought for 2017 Awards for Excellence

Local authorities and waste firms are being encouraged to champion the hard work of their collection crews by putting them forward for the Awards for Excellence in Recycling and Waste Management.

Ronnie Oakes and Fred Noris were winners of the Collection Crew of the Year Award 2016

The deadline has now been extended to the 17 March for entries to the Awards programme. Submissions are also being sought for top-performing Civic Amenity (CA) sites.   

Ronnie Oakes and Fred Noris were winners of the Collection Crew of the Year Award 2016

Organised by, the annual celebration of hard work and innovation in the waste sector will take place on 18 May 2017 at the five-star Landmark Hotel in the heart of London.

Entrants are sought for the Collection Crew of the Year Award – which recognises waste operatives for the dedication and high-level service provided in either refuse collection, recycling, or both.

Sponsored by UKWSL, in 2016 the prestigious award was picked up by Ronnie Oakes and Fred Noris Norse Waste Solutions in Norwich, for their work with the University of East Anglia.

This year the judges will be looking for a commitment to providing a high level of service which can be measured in terms of consistency of service, the quality of provision, safety records and additional factors, such as where crews go above and beyond the call of duty to provide a service.

The entry is likely to include testimonials and collection data.

CA sites

Also to be contested is the CA site of the Year Award, sponsored by WEEE compliance scheme Repic.

The Awards for Excellence is now in its 14th year and celebrates the best in the waste industry

This award celebrates the successful and effective day-to-day operations that can be measured and seen at facilities.

Entrants will need to show how the sites have been used to increase recycling and composting and provide an enhanced service to users. Other factors could include planning, design, operational and cost aspects of the site.

Last year the award was picked up by Biffa for management of the Sheerness household waste recycling centre in Kent.

Awards for Excellence

Now in its 14th year, the Awards for Excellence continues to celebrate the best in UK waste and recycling.

Other awards up for grabs for Retail Recycling Champion; Design of a Waste Management Facility; Waste Management Initiative in the Commercial and Public Sector; Circular Economy Success; The Best Community Recycling Initiative; Recycling Business of the Year; Best Local Authority Recycling Initiatives; Local Authority Recycling Champion; Zero Waste Platinum Award, and; Waste Transfer and Skip Hire Business of the Year.

For more information about these categories and more, be sure to visit:


Leave a Reply

The Blog Box

Other Publications from
The Environment Media Group

Back to top