18 April 2018 by Elizabeth Slow

Finalists chosen for 2018 Awards for Excellence

This year’s list of finalists for the 2018 Awards for Excellence in Recycling and Waste Management has been revealed, with businesses, community organisations and councils all in the running for accolades.

This year’s Awards will be held on May 10 at the Landmark Hotel, near Marylebone station

Winners of the Awards, will be announced at a celebratory luncheon and Awards Ceremony on 10 May at the Landmark Hotel, London.

Now in their 14th year, the Awards, which are organised by letsrecycle.com, reward innovation, dedication and success within the waste and recycling industries, local authorities and the wider sector.

This year’s expert judging panel were: Jacob Hayler, executive director, Environmental Services Association; Samantha Sen, policy advisor, retail organisation REVO; Jarno Stet, secretary, NAWDO; Carole Taylor, chair of LARAC; Julia Turner, executive director, Wood Recyclers Association; Robbie Warden, chair of the Resource Association; and Steve Eminton, editor of letsrecycle.com.

High standard

Praising the variety of entries and ongoing enthusiasm in the sector, Mr Eminton, editor of letsrecycle.com said: “It’s great to see such an exciting and high standard of entries to this year’s Awards for Excellence. They show the innovation and drive of local authorities and businesses to promote reuse and zero waste and to increase recycling rates. Recycling is back on the agenda nationally and the judges were impressed by the valuable work being undertaken.”


Part of the judging team with an assortment of entries

He added: “I would like to congratulate this year’s finalists and I look forward to meeting you all on the 18th. Thanks too to all the judges for their hard work and studious approach to the judging process.”

Tickets to attend the Awards, 12 noon – 4.00pm on 10 May are now available and can be purchased here:
Awards for Excellence 2018 tickets.

The Drinks Reception at the Awards is sponsored by Wastepack.

The Finalists

Waste Management Initiative in the Retail, Commercial and Public Sector
The University of Winchester’s coffee cup initiative
Reduce – Reuse – Recycling – Reinvest: Dunelm and Biffa
Tube Lines Ltd and Bywaters
Westfield Europe Ltd in partnership with Veris Strategies

Circular Economy Success – sponsored by ERP, European Recycling Platform
The Bio-Bee, GENeco
MGB Plastics
Paper Cup Recovery and Recycling Group

Innovation in Design of a Waste Management Facility – sponsored by the Environmental Services Association
Food Waste Tipping Solution for Tesco, Whitham Mills Engineering
RE3 MRF, Bracknell Forest, Reading and Wokingham councils and FCC Environment
Southall Lane MHF: Hounslow, Eunomia, Wilmott Dixon, Lampton 360

Metals Recycling Business of the Year – sponsored by Liebherr-Great Britain
R Collard
Recycling Lives
Ward Recycling

Organics Recycling Business of the Year
4R Group
Levenseat Organics Team

Wood Recycling Business of the Year
Community Wood Recycling
Hadfield Wood Recyclers

Plastics Recycling Business of the Year
Clearpoint Recycling Ltd
RPC bpi recycled products

Paper Recycling Business of the Year – sponsored by T2e, the Environment Exchange
CS Recycling
DS Smith Recycling
Highlander International Recycling

Recycling Business of the Year – sponsored by Ceris Burns International
Finalists are from the winners of the materials recycling categories

Waste Transfer and Skip Hire Business of the Year – sponsored by Turmec
GBN Services

Collection Crew of the Year
Recycle Round 5, West Devon Borough Council
Royal Borough of Greenwich Recycling Team
Sandwell Recycling Crew 2, Serco

Civic Amenity Site of the Year – sponsored by REPIC
Ivybridge HWRC, Devon County Council
High Heavens HRC, Buckinghamshire, FCC Environment
Lynnbottom Household Waste Recycling Centre, Amey in partnership with Isle of Wight Council

The Best Community Recycling Initiative – sponsored by Smart Solutions
A Charity Active in the Tees Valley, FRADE
Fyne Futures, Scotland
Repair Café Leytonstone, London Borough of Waltham Forest’s Waste and Recycling Team
Soft Furnishings Deconstruction Project, Refurbs Flintshire

The Best Local Authority Recycling Initiative – sponsored by Hadfield
Rescued and Reused Bikes, Barnsley Metropolitan Borough Council
Slim My Waste – Feed My Face, Bristol Waste Company
Festive Bin Men of Christmas, South Staffordshire Council
Food Waste Recycling, Surrey Waste Partnership

Local Authority Recycling Champion – sponsored by Biffa
James Baughan, Oxford City Council
Catherina Pack, London Borough of Ealing

Zero Waste Platinum Award – sponsored by WasteCare
Moy Park and Biffa IRM
Wessex Water Services Ltd
The Woodhorn Group

For enquiries about the Awards, please call 020 7633 4500 or email: Hollie.T@letsrecycle.com


To post your comment, please login or signup.

Login Sign up